Welcome Cards

I know it’s been longer then anticipated since my last post. SORRY!! The weather turned in the NorthEast and has been improving.  On days that it is sunny and nice…I am outside all of the time and create a lot less.  I like to enjoy the sun!  I received information yesterday that indicates to me that my summer days are winding down…I got my class list for this coming school year!  I’ve been working in my classroom a bit as I’m heading back to the beach next week, but it’s really getting close to the time for me to contact families and welcome the new students for the year. In late August I send home information letters and the past few years have been sending “Welcome” cards to the students as well.  Today the weather here has been quite overcast, a perfect day for me to create.

I REALLY LOVE the New Stampin’ Up! catalog and am looking forward to the release of the Holiday Mini catalog in September, but have been trying to use product I still have from past catalogs.  When I have a workshop or class, I always use present merchandise because I want to make sure customers have the ability to purchase what they are using if  they desire, but for personal creations, I mix and match some old and new.  I had a lot of the designer paper “Good Morning Sunshine” leftover from the Spring/Summer 2009 Catalog, so I knew I wanted to use that paper.  I also wanted to keep my card simple as I was reproducing it 20 times.  This is what I came up with:

Welcome card--school year 2009

Welcome card--school year 2009

It was really pretty simple to create.  I cut A LOT of 1 inch x 1 inch pieces of the Good Morning Sunshine paper and just randomly mounted them on all of the cards.  I then used the Chocolate Striped Grosgrain ribbon and the stamp set “Warm Words” for the “welcome” in Chocolate Chip ink.  Each card is different in that they have different pieces of the DSP on them, but the method and  manner they were created is the same and they all coordinate. I will probably create some form of “welcome” sign for the classroom using this paper to coordinate with what I’m sending with what the children may see in the classroom.

I would highly suggest a design such as this if you are looking to use up some of your paper.  This is a picture of the stacks of cards completed.

stack of cards

stack of cards

(You may notice one of them has a yellow oval on it. The “welcome” didn’t turn out too well on the Very Vanilla cardstock, so I “fixed” my mistake by covering it with a punched embellishment.) Now all I need to do is write them all!!

Explore posts in the same categories: Cards, Stampin' Up!

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Welcome Cards”

  1. Mer-Made Says:

    What great, fun and easy cards. I teach middle school and like to also give the students a bookmark. It is fun to see who still has their bookmarks later during the year. Have a great school year!


Leave a Reply

